Located in the western Cambrian mountains of Mid Wales approximately 11 miles from Aberystwyth on the A44, the Silver Mountain Experience was originally a silver-rich lead ore mine primarily from the 19th Century. By 1973 the Llywernog Mine was derelict. Since then, the current owner, after years of careful restoration, brought back this amazing example of Welsh mining heritage where the underground tunnels, once dark and forgotten, could then safely be explored. There is the original old mine “count house”, other buildings connected with the ore dressing process, plus many ancient photographs, tools, equipment and mining documents from the industry displayed in the museum. Also above ground are collections of mining machinery and working water wheels which were actually made in local foundries which closed long ago.
Restored buildings form a unique complex dating from the 1860’s and the original buildings are all Grade II listed. Part of the top site near the actual shaft is classified as a scheduled ancient monument.
In 2012 the site was completely redeveloped to improve access to and the viewing experience of the underground areas and upgrade heritage trail signage but most significantly to add a new and thrilling dimension as a more family-oriented visitor attraction using the original buildings as a stage set for the Silver Mountain Experience with its myths, fantasy, new tour experiences and a host of exciting interactive features. The attraction is now run by the operating company Silver Mine Attractions Ltd, whose directors Simon Pickard and Mike Fish designed and developed the new attraction.